EXPERIENCE YOU CAN’T FAKE IT

Don’t miss mystery writer Nancy Cole Silverman’s post at Motive Means Opportunity!

MotiveMeansOpportunity

By Nancy Cole Silverman

I don’t know why it is writers see mystery in the everyday occurrences. Perhaps it has something to do with the way we’re wired.  I’ve never been certain if artists were more sensitive than, let’s say, engineers or mathematicians. But I do think writers often feel and see things on a more multi-dimensional platform that allows them to slip in and out of reality with ease.  How else could they dream up such bizarre plots with unexpected twists that have their fans reaching for the next book?

For instance, the other day, I stood next to a woman at the butchers while she ordered a half-pound of ground beef. She waited patiently, while I, having also ordered a half-pound of ground beef, felt sudden panic. Visions of Sweeny Todd flashed through my head as I watched the butcher process the meat through the grinder. I noticed…

View original post 478 more words

Leave a Reply

