When What You Know Is Boring

Mystery writer Catherine Dilts writes about “When What You Know Is Boring” today at #MotiveMeansOpportunity

MotiveMeansOpportunity

by Catherine Dilts

stonecoldbloodedfront-5One of the first bits of advice an aspiring author receives is “write what you know.” For many years, I didn’t have a clue what that meant. After all, my life seemed dull. Many writers I knew had led lives of intrigue, or at least had cool job titles. How could writing about what I knew possibly be of interest to readers?

I spent several years toiling away in a factory. Determined to get some mileage out of all that pain and suffering, I wrote, and sold, my first short story set in that factory. I’ve learned that what is ordinary to me may seem intriguing to an outsider.

Your experiences may seem bland only because they are so familiar to you. I have some hints to help you see the extraordinary in the ordinary.

Finding the Key

The key to writing what you know begins with…

View original post 444 more words

One thought on “When What You Know Is Boring

Leave a Reply

