BEING BLACK IN AN ALL WHITE TOWN

BEING BLACK IN AN ALL WHITE TOWN — A MUST Read!

MotiveMeansOpportunity

by Laurel S. Peterson

Thank you MotiveMeansOpportunity and Kait Carson for hosting me. I’m honored to be here.

shadow-notes-cover-compressedI’m white. Let’s start there. But my first mystery novel, Shadow Notes, contains a black police chief from New Orleans who has moved north after Hurricane Katrina to work in a small Connecticut town. In some quarters of the literary community, I would be criticized sharply for writing a character outside my race. If you’re curious about the controversy, you can read about what happened when Lionel Shriver said writers should be able to write about anyone they choose. I’ve included the link at the bottom of this post.

I understand the criticism from a woman’s point of view, rather than a racial one; that is, in most of the novels I read growing up men portrayed what they thought a woman would think and act like. In that context, it’s clear…

View original post 702 more words

Leave a Reply

