My Rocky Journey to Publication

Don’t miss Christina Hoag’s rocky journey to publication at #MotiveMeansOpportunity

MotiveMeansOpportunity

by Christina Hoag

I was incredibly excited when I landed my first offer of representation from a literary agent for what was then my novel “Skin of Tattoos,” a literary thriller set in the gang underworld of L.A. I’d sent out about 90 queries, had received a few requests for pages but no bites and I was starting to despair.skinoftattooscover

Then I got the call. During our conversation, the agent said, “I don’t really like agenting. I’m just, sort of, doing this.” It struck me as odd, but I couldn’t turn her down. What if I didn’t get another offer?

I signed and we met. During the conversation, she told me that a publisher had agreed to take one of her books but had never followed through with the contract. Again, it didn’t paint her in the best light, but I figured that could happen to any agent.

Several months…

View original post 914 more words

Leave a Reply

