Kids Who Read May Not Be Millionaires, But They Can Still Party Like Ones

Kristen Twardowski

broadway-barks

When I was a kid, I participated in my local library’s summer reading program. Starting in June, I would fill out reading logs, each of which had room to list five books. Then I would read. For every completed log that I turned in, I earned “Book Bucks” that I could redeem for various prizes at the library. (I ended up eating a lot of free ice cream that way.) But, the pleasure of books notwithstanding, receiving food isn’t the only thing that inspires kids to read.

I found an article about one school that is experimenting with new ways to show kids how incredible books can be. The Britt David Magnet Academy in Columbus, Georgia recently celebrated the fact that its kindergarteners read a combined 1,000,000 words this school year by throwing them a “Millionaire Bash”. Like in my old summer reading program, the kids submitted logs of…

View original post 244 more words

2 thoughts on “Kids Who Read May Not Be Millionaires, But They Can Still Party Like Ones

Leave a Reply

